The 2.0 Adoption Council

Conferences are a great way to network. As great as these social media tools are, sometimes there’s no better way to build or reinforce your network, or ties, than meeting people in person.

In this context, I’m speaking of the recent Enterprise 2.0 conference held this past June in Boston.

I have been aggressively pursuing an Enterprise 2.0 strategy for a Fortune 500 company the last year, and much of the year what I was doing was semi-confidential.

But by June, our deployment pilot was well underway. So it was great to come armed to my second E2.0 conference with lots of questions, a few relationships already established and a passionate enthusiasm to learn more.

I ran into folks I met last year and folks, of course, from my own company who I rarely get to see, but always enjoy hanging out with (Mark Masterson, Sherri Hartlen-Neely and Doug Neal). But I also got to meet new folks in the industry (I’m sure I’ll forget some names, so please forgive me upfront.) Megan Murray and other folks from Booz Allen Hamilton (who I met briefly at last year’s E2.0 and Confluence User Group), Patricia Romeo from Deloitte, Jamie Pappas from EMC (who I had talked to and exchanged emails with but never met), Ted Hopton from UBM (again who I had just started to get to know virtually), Greg Lowe from Alcatel-Lucent (who now ranks among my top Twitter friends, always reliable for the occasional dig or sarcasm!), Gia Lyons from Jive Software (ok, we have met and chatted a lot this year, but it was a great bonus to hang out!), Ryan Boyles and Luis Suarez from IBM, Rachel Happe and Jim Storer from The Community Roundtable, Ed Sullivan from Radian 6 and finally, and most importantly, Susan Scrupski who we all know as ITSinsider.

It turns out, I didn’t get to spend nearly enough time talking to Susan as I would have liked. But what I missed out on during that conference, I have more than made up for since.

Apparently Susan noticed what most of us noticed this year at the Enterprise 2.0 Conference – and that was “Where are the customer case studies”? Yes, there were a few. But all of us who are trying to ‘do E2.0’ behind our firewalls are so looking for those stories (successes, lessons learned, how to make a case, where are the struggles and are we any better off than last year?).

e20-adoption-council-logo-transparent-bkgrd

I am grateful to the few folks that did get in her ear that week, because under her leadership The 2.0 Adoption Council is now underway. And I am grateful to have been invited as an early member, along with Mark Masterson, from CSC.

“We are a collection of managers in large enterprises that are charting the course for 2.0 adoption. Although we may use different platforms and tools, we all share a common enthusiasm for bringing a new way of working to our representative companies. We call ourselves “internal evangelists” and some say we have one of the most difficult, yet exciting jobs in the global marketplace.”

Membership into the council is limited to 2 members from any enterprise (10K+ employees) actively engaged and leading E2.0 efforts.

Since this Council kicked off almost a month and a half ago I have already received great personal benefits.

First – I have already been able to benchmark best practices and case studies with a few members. This has directly benefited the next stage in our internal deployment.
Second, in just a few short weeks my network of colleagues and experts who share the same passion and focus that I do has expanded exponentially. I no longer feel isolated behind my company’s firewall. This in turn makes me more valuable to my employer as I can now draw upon experiences from other members rather than what I think might be the answer.
Third, and related to the above, I’ve already been able to ask questions and get them answered from this community. And quickly, too.
And finally, I am finding it fun to share my own experience and case studies with others.
  1. I have already been able to benchmark best practices and case studies with a few members. This has directly benefited the next stage in our internal deployment.
  2. In just a few short weeks my network of colleagues and experts who share the same passion and focus that I do has expanded exponentially. I no longer feel isolated behind our firewall. And I have met many more E2.0 evangelists since the conference.
  3. Related to the above, I’ve already been able to ask questions and get them answered from this community. And quickly, too.
  4. And finally, I am finding it fun to share my own experience and case studies with others.

Membership in The 2.o Adoption Council is still open to new members. Won’t you join us? Engage. Evangelize. Empower. To learn more visit http://www.20adoptioncouncil.com/Blog/

About Claire Flanagan
Claire Flanagan is a Director of KM and Enterprise Social Business & Community strategy at CSC. Views expressed are her own.

One Response to The 2.0 Adoption Council

  1. Pingback: Come see why The 2.0 Adoption Council rocks « Claire Flanagan

Leave a Reply

